This page is still being developed

Children’s Liturgy Group   During 10.30 Mass every Sunday in the church hall

St Vincent De Paul Society (SVP)   A lay organisation that was founded in the early 19th Century by students at the University of Paris who wanted to help the poor of the city.  Since then it has grown into an international organisation that helps those in need regardless of faith.   The Bexley SVP Conference was started at the instigation of Fr Parkinson (Assistant Priest at the time), who saw the need for people to visit the patients in Bexley Hospital.

Although the hospital is no more, the SVP continue their work of visiting people in their own or in residential homes.   As well as visiting the housebound and the sick, members assist with shopping, transport to and from Mass and minor domestic tasks.   For those in financial need the Society also help with the provision of food, furniture, clothing, transport tickets and the repair of essential appliances.   All assistance is given through personal contact and requests for help are considered in confidence at the SVP meetings.


Churches Together in Old Bexley.  

This brings together nine of the churches in and around Bexley Village – St Mary the Virgin, Albany Park Baptist Church, St John the Evangelist, Baldwyn’s Park Baptist Church, Bexley United Reformed Church, St James the Great, Blendon, St Barnabas in Joyden’s Wood, St James, North Cray and St John Fisher RC Church.

Kathy Fogarty is the Parish Christian Unity Contact for St John Fisher.  She writes: “Each Parish in the Southwark Diocese has appointed a ‘PUC’ and we come under the Diocesan Christian Unity Commission.  Our role is to assist and support our Parish Priests in furthering Christian Unity. Here in the Old Bexley Group we hold various services and events throughout the year including the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity, Lent courses, Good Friday Stations of the Cross, an annual Quiet Day of Prayer Walk, and Carol Singing in Bexley High Street.

Southwark Diocese’s link to Christian Unity Commission: